Why Protect the Bush?

Australia is one of the six most biodiverse countries in the world. More than 80% of our mammals, reptiles and flowering plants are found only on this continent.

Because of habitat destruction, land clearing, feral animals and invasive weeds we have the highest mammal extinction rate in the world. Current threats to our fauna and flora need urgent attention if we are to retain the biodiversity we still have.

PTBA was formed in 2012 to protect Areas of High Conservation Value (see below) from inappropriate activities.

Download PTBA PowerPoint – 10.13 (Large file: 4.8 Mb)

There are many important organisations who are already members of PTBA. CLICK HERE TO SEE

Membership is open to any organisation, business or individual that endorses our aims. It is expected that members will have a wide range of views on other issues, but will work together to achieve the aims of the Alliance. There is currently no membership fee.

Become a member of PBTA

Download the Membership Prospectus

High Conservation Value Areas

There are six main types of HCV areas, based on the definition originally developed by the Forest Stewardship Council for certification of forest ecosystems.

  1. HCV1. Areas containing globally, nationally or regionally significant concentrations of biodiversity values (e.g. endemism, endangered species, refugia).
  2. HCV2. Globally, regionally or nationally significant large landscape-level areas where viable populations of most if not all naturally occurring species exist in natural patterns of distribution and abundance.
  3. HCV3. Areas that are in or contain rare, threatened or endangered ecosystems.
  4. HCV4. Areas that provide basic ecosystem services in critical situations (e.g. watershed protection, erosion control).
  5. HCV5. Areas fundamental to meeting basic needs of local communities (e.g. subsistence, health).
  6. HCV6. Areas critical to local communities’ traditional cultural identity (areas of cultural, ecological, economic or religious significance identified in cooperation with such local communities).

From the Charter of the High Conservation Resource Network

HCV areas include properties in the National Reserve System and Important Bird Areas.


Sheena Gillman email


2013 © PTBA
Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Twitter